Communicating Effectively

                                               

Through the e-mail communication I believe Jane was very clear in expressing what she needed from Mark. I think that she should have possibly asked him could he get the information to her no later than a specific date and time in order to give him an idea of how soon she really needs the information. This would ensure that he gives the information to her in a timely manner.

The voicemail communication made me feel like there was a sense of urgency in the materials that Jane needed. The pitch and tone kind of made me think that she is in desperate need of the materials from him or there is a sense of urgency. I think I would be more prone to attempt to get the materials to her if I were Mark.

The face-to-face communication is a great idea because if Mark has the materials already handy, then he can give them to her right then. She will not have to worry about missing her deadline. The only thing with the face-to-face communication shown in the resources is that her body language made her seem timid as well as her not seeming confident in what she was saying or asking for. I believe that she could have used a different tone that would have expressed to him how important it is for him to do his part to help her be successful at meeting her deadline.

I think that communication is essential to being successful when working on any project that requires other people to be involved. Communication helps to ensure that schedules are followed, deadlines are met, and projects are accomplishing the intended goals and outcomes. Without proper communication, the project could definitely fail.

12 thoughts on “Communicating Effectively

  1. Hi Montrice,

    Wow, the more I read our classmates blogs, the more I realize how important this week’s assignment was! Everyone really brings their own interpretation and unique perspective to the three forms of the conversation. I don’t know about you, but I have really enjoyed this activity this week.

    I really like how you focused on what the main point of the communication was in the first place- getting the materials she needed. In each of your interpretations, you provided ways in which she could have been clearer in her communication. I tended to focus on how friendly she seemed in each conversation, and not necessarily in what she should do to achieve her goal!

    I think one thing to remember in all communication is to approach your mutual conversations with a positive mind and assume that someone didn’t mean to sound harsh or rude. That being said, taking care with what we say and how we say it to coworkers goes a long way too.

    Great perspective Montrice!

  2. Hi Genah,
    Thank you. Yes, this was a great assignment. I agree that how you approach a conversation is very important and it can either help or hurt the message trying to be conveyed. I think it was good to focus on her friendliness too but she still needed to get a job done so I guess that’s what made me focus on how to accomplish the goal instead of how pleasant she was.

    Montrice

    • Hi Toni,
      That’s a very good question. It’s possible that he might sit in his meeting and check emails, especially if it’s uninteresting. Sometimes people will sit in meetings and do everything but listen. I think she could’ve conveyed the urgency in a text message too, but I’m not sure if it would be considered unprofessional or not, and hopefully he doesn’t have his phone on. I think it’s very unprofessional to sit in a meeting looking at a phone. You could possibly miss valuable information.

      Montrice

      • I want to jump in on this conversation! Cellphones are becoming more and more common in professional workplaces. For example, I get my school email on my phone, so I have explained to my students that when they see me on my phone in class, I am checking emails, which is something that teachers NEED to do> Especially at my school and at the elementary level, changes can happen at the last minute to schedules. My secretary emails me important info about my students all the time, and the sooner I get it the better most of the time. I brought my phone to an assembly we had this week so I could take notes on the fundraiser we are doing, in my notepad inside my phone. This might seem unprofessional to you, but it’s professional to me, and in the end I know I’m doing what’s right by keeping my phone on me all day. I am more connected to the other members of my school because of it. I always turn it off when I’m in a whole school meeting though, because everyone I would need to communicate with is in the room with me.

      • Hi Amanda,
        You made an awesome and valid point. I use my cell phone in church, but just like you I am taking notes.I did not think about it in this way at first, but now that you have brought this to my attention I will have to say that cell phone use is appropriate as long as the person is using it for professional purposes, not to play games, check Facebook, Twitter, etc.

        Montrice

  3. Montrice,

    As you said, when speaking to someone face to face, the person making the request should come across as confident so the receiver of the message doesn’t take the request lightly. Since Mark is in danger of holding up Jane’s portion of the project, Jane needs to make sure that Mark understands the urgency of the situation. I do like your idea of setting a specific date for Mark to get the material to Jane. Setting a specific time and date could help Mark realize the urgency of the situation.

    Cami

  4. Hi Montrice,

    Wow, we really interpreted the email, voice mail, and face-to-face conversation differently. Like Genah, I focused on how the email ‘sounded’ and decided that without her tone of voice and facials or body language, Jane came off as very harsh and criticizing in her email. She did a better job of communicating in her voicemail, I thought, because she didn’t sound like she was jumping down Mark’s throat about it. But of course, she forgot to make sure Mark knew who was calling, so she probably won’t end up getting her report! In the end, I thought the face-to-face conversation was best, because she wouldn’t have to worry about Mark waiting a while to get his email, or not checking his voice mails. I didn’t think about how she might be able to get the report from him if she went to his cubicle though. That is a really good point. In the end, I think the email was a bad idea only because of the way she typed her message. I was reminded of when we first started our online courses and we learned that tone of voice isn’t conveyed in written text very well, so you have to type what you say very carefully. What do you think about the tone in the email?

    ~Amanda

    • Hi Amanda,

      I honestly did not take her tone in the email as being harsh. I guess because I was reading it in my bubbly tone, or how I would say it if it were me relaying the message to someone else. After re-reading it though, I can see how the tone could be perceived as harsh. It is amazing how we all can read or hear the same messages and interpret them in so many different ways. I guess that it why it is very important to be careful in what and how you say things. The messages should definitely be adapted to the fit the way it will be communicated.

      Montrice

  5. I think it’s interesting that text was brought up, because I think that brings up what their work relationship is. In some cases, I think a text might be appropriate, while in other cases it might not. If a teacher needed something (from someone they knew was in a meeting), it might be appropriate for her to text a peer teacher or her lead teacher but definitely not her superintendent (even if that number were available). Either way, in Jane’s case, I agree with Amanda that the email was a bad idea.

  6. I also chose the e-mail as the most effective way to communicate. In my day to day communication, normally even if it is important I first send an e-mail and it includes date and time of when I need a request (great point Montrice), then if I don’t get an answer from the person I call them. I will only go to someone’s office to discuss something that can be better understood in person not to request a report.

    Amanda, to your point, I am also one that I am easier to reach via e-mail than face to face or on the phone because I am always in meetings or in between locations. As so I normally don’t check my voice-mail until the end of the day but I check my e-mails every time I receive one. This may also be the reason why I chose the e-mail!

    Massiel

  7. I agree that this assignment was taken differently by everyone! Wow- just a reminder that no matter what way we communicate or how hard we try to be clear in our message it will be taken differently by each person. I think though that if it is face to face communication then the other person can take that chance to immediately ask for feedback or clarification if they need to. Hopefully then the correct message will be conveyed.
    I myself took all the communication to sound as though Jane was just simply asking for the information sooner then later so she could do her part of the assignment. So interesting to see the way we have all viewed it. I am sure that our prior experiences with this type of communication, or the scenario of whether or not we have been waiting on someone else’s work to be done, or someone waiting on ours can have an effect on how we viewed it as well.

    Steph

Leave a Reply

